International Space Station

The International Space Station is the collaboration of different nations working in different fields of science specifically astronomy and meteorology. It is an internationally developed facility constructed below earths orbit and can be seen with the naked eye from earth.

The space station is run by different countries, mainly by the United States and Russia. Construction while in orbit began in late 1998, and is expected to be completed by 2011. It is also the largest artificial satellite that has been orbiting earth, and is also targeted to run until the year 2015 or 2020.

This project is a collaboration of America’s Freedom project, Russia’s Mir-2 Space Program, the European’s Columbus space project and Japan’s Kibo space exploration program. Currently, the station has a total of fifteen pressurized modules ran by sixteen solar arrays.

The space station is operated by the five main space branches of five different nations namely America’s National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), the Russian Federal Space Agency (ROSCOSMOS), the European Space Agency (ESA), the Canadian Space Agency (CSA), and the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA).

Also, the International Space Station is primarily a research laboratory and also one of the current internationally assembled and habitable satellites in low earth orbit. The size of the International Space Station is as big as a football field.

Welcome to the International Space Station

Scroll to Top